A very neural mind map tool

The number of mind map tools is growing so fast, it is in my opinion blocking the professional use of mind mapping. A comparison with Powerpoint comes to my mind. It started as something completely new, but the tons of bullet lists, silly Microsoft clip art, overcrowded and non-communicating slides, killed it efficiently.  Powerpoint became powerpointitis. Let’s hope mind maps do not await a similar fate. There are tons of mind maps on the Internet that are quite lame, powerless. Just as with Powerpoint: overcrowded mind maps, silly clip art illustrations, a lot of text-like features, complete sentences on thin lines, and so on. Hardly giving overview.
Once a while something new and interesting surfaces. Like Think. Developed by Ashley Sand. Think is  a free web application and easy to use thanks to an uncluttered and intuitive interface. What I like about it, that it closely resembles the neural network.  I used Think to think out a more strategical use of social media. It surprises me that so many companies start using social media without strategy, no goals and no means to measure how effective they are (I use a very interesting program to measure number of people reached, influence and retweets). Think! Have fun.

About Hans Buskes

I am a professional mindmapper, I help companies map their business, I am author of two mindmap books. My clients are law firms, municipalities, banks, consultancies and high-tech companies.
This entry was posted in business strategy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A very neural mind map tool

  1. Ashley Sands says:

    Hi hans buskes,

    Thank you for writing a blog post about my web app.

    It gives me great joy when people understand my intentions when I designed Think; I indeed designed it to be as simple and intuitive as possible and to graphically resemble a brain or group of neurons.

  2. Well normally I would agree, but in this case it is very functional. Crossmedial means that you cross-over from one medium to the next and linking them. Think is the first mind map application making it possible to visualize this linking between branches.

    However, I would also suggest, don’t overdo it.

Leave a Reply

