Blood on the tracks: songs of murder

This is about as bloody as it gets in Dylan songs. But lets face it, good songs. She sees the bartender in a pool of blood. Lord, lord, they cut George Jackson down. I can’t go to paradise no more, I killed a man back there. Have I forgotten one? Let me know and I will add it.

About Hans Buskes

I am a professional mindmapper, I help companies map their business, I am author of two mindmap books. My clients are law firms, municipalities, banks, consultancies and high-tech companies.
This entry was posted in music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blood on the tracks: songs of murder

  1. Pingback: Linking Nesbø to Dylan | mastermindmaps

  2. Ian says:

    Sorry, Mastermindmaps –
    While I put in lyric credit for Kristofferson and Traditional, I’d forgotten about the source of “Black Cross” which is *not* written by Dylan. I realized my mistake after posting this morning and had it as by Lord Buckley. But I see I was even wrong there. Joseph S. Newman – Paul the actor’s uncle – is the author, with Lord Buckley doing a version, which Bob re-created in forums lacking credits, i.e. unofficial bootlegs.
    http://homepage.mac.com/tedgoranson/BeatlesArchives/Buckleyroutines/Lord_Buckley/Black_Cross40.html
    However, I think you should include the six million from ‘With God on Our Side’. [M]urdered’ six million’ seems pretty clearly to fit. While the song may not be about those particular murders, they are about the untellable numbers, and the murdering, and the maiming and the shedding of blood. And …. and… and. Not as ‘clean cut’ as ‘joey gallo,’ but murders none the less.
    I enjoy your work in this vein by the way. Bloody good stuff.
    And here’s another possibility from Oxford Town
    ” Oxford Town in the afternoon/ Ev’rybody singin’ a sorrowful tune/ Two men died ’neath the Mississippi moon/Somebody better investigate soon”
    cheers.

  3. Here’s some more, (song followed by key lines from song):
    Lonesome Day Blues (well, my pa he died and left me, my brother got killed in the war)

    No Time to Think (I’d have paid off the traitor and killed him much later)

    Only a Pawn in Their Game (a bullet from the back of a bush took Medgar Evers’ blood)

    Percy’s Song (There was four persons killed)

    Seven Curses (she saw that hangin’ branch a-bendin’, she saw her father’s body broken)

    Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues (now we all agree with Hitlers’ views, although he killed six million Jews)

    With God on Our Side (though they murdered six million, in the ovens they fried)

    Who killed Davey Moore? (who killed Davey Moore, why an’ what’s the reason for?)

    Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts (big Jim lay covered up, killed by a penknife in the back)

    • Thanks Michael for your input. I skipped the songs in your comment that are not songs written by Dylan. The mind map contains only Dylan originals. You must have overlooked Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts. It was mentioned in the mind map. No time to think and Seven curses I have added (see update of the mind map). I think you can argue if Lonesome Day Blues and Who killed Davey Moore are really murders. I will add Only a pawn and Percy’s song to the next update. Talking John Birch and With god on our side, I don’t know. The songs are not -like all the others mentioned – directly about thse murders, but are more a reference to them.

  4. Ian says:

    Hezekiah Jones – Black Cross – unreleased (hung/as high up as a pigeon)
    Old Reilly – Seven Curses – Bootleg 1 (hanging branch a bending)
    Little Sadie / In search of Little Sadie- Self Portrait (Traditional) (shot)
    They Killed Him – Knocked out Loaded (Kristofferson) (killed)

  5. Piece of art! Well done!

Leave a Reply

