Eight legs of Tarantula

Mind Map © Hans Buskes

I made this mind map two years ago when discussing a line from Tarantula with R.T. Packard on SometimesRhymes (that seems to have disappeared in smoke): “The sun is still yellow, some people would say it’s chicken.” Never published it. After reading A crash course on reading Tarantula by Robin Witting, I revisited it and revised it. The first four branches did not change. I added the intriguing issue of the mentions about Hitler in Tarantula (there is by the way not one, but 5 mentions in Tarantula) to the sixth branch. Changed the seventh branch from symbolism to food on the basis of Witting’s book. I agree with him that “Tarantula is all about appetite” and that all the food-related references “no doubt nourishing both body and soul”.

I have a strong feeling that reading Witting’s book as well as this mind map, makes it easier to read and comprehend Tarantula.

P.S. I arrive at a different conclusion about the roots of the title of Dylan’s book, I think it’s taken from A streetcar named Desire (see bottom line in mind map).

About Hans Buskes

I am a professional mindmapper, I help companies map their business, I am author of two mindmap books. My clients are law firms, municipalities, banks, consultancies and high-tech companies.
This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eight legs of Tarantula

  1. Elston says:

    ‘Sólo soy un guitarrista’ – Bob Dylan, Tarantula, 1966

    ‘La guitarra, … como la tarántula, teje una gran estrella’
    (‘The guitar, … like the tarantula, weaves a great star’) –
    Federico García Lorca, ‘Las seis cuerdas’, 1931

Leave a Reply

