A terrific free timeline template

I just read on the excellent blog Hubaisms by George Huba that he was inspired by the timelines I’ve made like the one about ten great books and those of Philippe Packu.
George rearranged a mind map of his personal views on US presidents in two timelines (one of them in a 3D mode made possible with iMindmap). Showing that timelines can be quite effective.

This made me think again about the earlier work I did experimenting with timelines. Using timelines turn mind maps into a kind of infographics. This puts several requirements on the layout of the mind map. All the effort we put into making mind maps should create added value, e.g. a better overview of data. Bearing this in mind, I made a quick sketch how I would make a timeline of presidents trying to make it as readable as possible (and using all the tools iMindmap offers, like flow charts elements). The above timeline (roughly 15 minutes) is the result. Not finished, but just serving as an example. Anyone who wants to finish it, just mail me and I’ll send the original imx-file. Of course you’ll have to stretch the timeline, to squeeze in all the American presidents.

About Hans Buskes

I am a professional mindmapper, I help companies map their business, I am author of two mindmap books. My clients are law firms, municipalities, banks, consultancies and high-tech companies.
This entry was posted in education, history and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A terrific free timeline template

  1. April Kangas says:

    would you mind sending me a copy of the timeline template/file? Thanks so much

  2. George Huba says:

    Excellent as always, Hans. Your ability to take information and make it accessible to both novices and experts is unparalleled. It would be great if you would systematically discuss all of your great ideas in an ebook (or paper book) similar to that you recently published about Live Mind Mapping. Your work and that of Philippe Packu is clearly Mind Mapping 2.0 (or 3.0).

Leave a Reply

