Ry Cooder’s connection to Dylan

See also: linking Ronstadt to Dylan

About Hans Buskes

I am a professional mindmapper, I help companies map their business, I am author of two mindmap books. My clients are law firms, municipalities, banks, consultancies and high-tech companies.
This entry was posted in books, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ry Cooder’s connection to Dylan

  1. MZ says:

    Don’t forget their performance together at the Great Music Experience in Nara in 1994. Cooder featured with Shokuchi Kina and the Chieftains, but he also played with Dylan on the rendition of Ring Them Bells.

    • Thanks! Have added the Great Music Experience to the mind map (and deleted the branch grammy’s, that I didn’t like from the start). Although I am not sure that Cooder was playing on Ring them Bells. I thought it was I shall be released, but can’t find the bootleg. Are you sure?

      • MZ says:

        Yes, I was there. I Shall Be Released was done twice, once by Bob & the orchestra and once by everyone at the end, including Cooder. But on Ring Them Bells, Cooder was on stage playing unobtrusively. You can catch a glimpse of him (dressed in orange) at the end of the video performance, partially obscured by Jim Keltner.

      • Alright, if you were there, you must be right. Made one extra change to the mind map.

  2. Pat says:

    In 1990 Ry Cooder played as the opening act for Bob Dylan at the Jazz Festival in Montreux.. 🙂

Leave a comment